Upgrade to Regional Referee
Upgrade to Regional Referee
Here is how you become a Regional Referee in Idaho...
Pre-requisites for upgrade...
Minimum age: at least 18 years old
Time as a Grassroots Referee: Minimum of 3 consecutive years
Previous game experience: 25 games as a referee at the adult level in 90 minute competition. A log must be submitted showing your games, so keep track.
During the 2022 calendar year (January - December), complete all of the following steps in any order...
The fitness test will be offered twice per year in Idaho. Out of state fitness test results are acceptable with adequate documentation.
Criteria are the FIFA Women's Referee Test) Male - Category 1 / Female - Category 3 including...
Sprint Test: 40 meter sprint; Men (maximum 6.40 seconds per trial), Women (maximum 6.60 seconds per trial)
Interval Test: Men (maximum 17 seconds per 75m run and 20 seconds per 25m walk), Women (maximum 17 seconds per 75m run and 24 seconds per 25m walk ). You can practice the interval test on your own using this audio file: Interval Test Audio File Download
Three assessments as a referee (no assistant referee assessments are required). Criteria are:
Matches must be adult, 11v11, and competitive.
The SDA may approve 1 match to come from the top youth level such as State Cup semi-finals or finals. Discuss those situations with Rob Walters.
The match you have assessed should be your first match of the day and have at least 30 minutes of available time for a debrief after your match.
The process for requesting an assessment is...
During the process of getting all 3 assessments and completing the fitness test, take the "Regional Referee Upgrade" course in the Learning Center. This includes Safe Sport and the Regional test. You can begin this in July or after.
Advanced Inservice Training
Attend the Advanced Referee Inservice in the fall. One date will be in the Treasure Valley area and if enough referees need it, we will offer one as possible. This includes a full day of video analysis, classroom instruction, Law Changes, discussion, and additional testing.
On your assessment day...
Communicate with your assessor directly in the event of weather or other unusual circumstances.
Pay the assessor before the game begins ($65 for an upgrade or maintenance assessment. All assessments carry a $50 additional fee if the assessor commutes more than 100 miles round trip for the game. Mileage is per day, not per game.)
Plan to spend 20-30 minutes with the assessor after your match. Ensure you do not have a game immediatley following your assessment. This debrief is with the entire crew, even if only one person is being assessed.
After the debrief, you will receive a written report within 72 hours. A minimum passing score is 70.
Contact Rob Walters, the state director of assessment